What does it Mean to be a Girl?

There have been many times in my life when I’ve considered myself to be pretty bad at being female. I never seem to be able to get my eyeliner right. Though you’ll never find me with bad eyebrows. I can’t sew. But I do love to cook. Especially bake, my cakes are pretty rad.*

All of the above things that I’ve mentioned are typical associated as female traits. If we’re looking at a hegemonic society, then I should be able to do all those things and never dabble in anything that I enjoy doing. Such as playing sport, helping my parents on our farm and spending a lot of time outside when the weather is nice. And trying very hard to play PlayStation.

And then what’s all this business about being a ‘Cool Girl’? Is life going to turn out to be like some terrible re-make of ‘Gone Girl’?

‘Being the Cool Girl means that I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games, drinks cheap beer, loves threesomes and anal sex, and jams hot dogs and hamburgers into her mouth like she’s hosting the world’s biggest culinary gang bang while somehow maintaining a size 2, because Cool Girls are above all hot.’

…………

Um wot?

I believe being a girl should be about being whoever you wish and doing whatever you please. Being a girl shouldn’t be an obstacle, nor a reason to not succeed in whatever you wish to be.

Leave a Reply

