Learning to Balance

I remember when I started high school I thought the year 12s were the biggest and most responsible people and I could not wait to be in their shoes. When I got to year 12 I thought ‘geez this is hard this whole HSC thing, I can’t wait till I get to uni and get to be an adult’.

Ahahaha. Hindsight is a magical thing.

Nearing the end of my third year of university I’ve come to the conclusion that being an adult is not nearly as appealing as I thought it would be. I love the adventure that each day brings, and being able to balance everything is something that takes time to master, but is definitely worth the time and planning.

So here are my tips on the best way to balance everything:

1. Keep a diary. I have one that gives me plenty of space to write out all of the important things I need to do. Some people even colour code them. I have a friends that has 3. One for social, one for uni and one for work. And a calendar on his wall. #committed.

2. Take time to relax. Being overwhelmed with too many things to do can be extremely tiring. So it’s very important for your physical and mental health to take time out. Turn off your phone for a day and relax with a book or movie and some good company, yourself.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 7.08.59 pm

3. Prioritise. It can be easy to get caught up in a whirlwind of social activities. But is it really worth going to every party you’ve been invited to Your friend’s second cousins 23rd party isn’t that worth going to compared to getting to spend some time with your parents.

4. Know that it is O.K to say no. Doing everything and doing the important things are two differences that you need to figure out. Make a list and cross each item off as you get the chance to do them. It gives a real sense of achievement.

Photo credit: nutty_about_food
Photo credit: nutty_about_food

5. Plan ahead when you can. My roommates and I always say we are going to plan out the coming weeks dinners but we never do. Which usually results in 3/7 nights of the week having no clue what to cook. The one week we did manage to plan dinners out made everything a lot easier. Defiantly something we should all try and incorporate into our week. Some simple planning can save a lot of time. Like picking your outfit the night before. Or packing your lunch after dinner.

Leave a Reply

