2015 In Review: From A Book’s Perspective

Instead of writing a review of my events from the year, I’ve decided to do it from books instead.

2015 was an absolutely roller coaster of a year, and the books I’ve read mirror that perfectly; ranging from every type of genre.

So here are my 2015 books in review. I recommend every one of them. Prior to 2015 I took a break from reading after being a child who was an avid reader, often being told to stop and go to bed! This past year I picked it back up again.

1.Call Me Sasha

‘Sasha’ or Geena details her life story which is incredibly hard to read, but so worth it. I won’t give the whole plot away, but Geena is assaulted by her father, she begins her life at the hand of an abuser. But she fights her way out, by taking control of her life. And her body. Becoming a prostitute is a way that Geena chooses to control who touches her. And so the details are extremely intimate, but eye opening none the less.

What I learnt from Geena’s story is to never stop fighting.

2. The Hobbit

A classic. Initially I had my doubts though as I’m not a huge fan of fantasy. But I went and saw the final movie in the instalment and decided to read the book. A few pages in and I was obsessed! I had to keep knowing what was going to happen on their quest and whether they’d succeed. I loved it so much that I read it a second time.

3. Grace

In 2009 I started reading Teen Vogue. It wasn’t until 2012 that I seriously began to read Vogue. And still do. American Vogue is obviously the biggest influence on the Australian version. Anna Wintour and Grace Coddington are the masterminds behind the modern issue.

Vogue dictates what is fashion, art and culture. Grace has lead an amazing life which is detailed in her book. Which was refreshing to read as it detailed not just the highlights of her career, but the lows she had to face to get where she is today.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

A book I read in one day on the train. I had heard so many things surrounding the books and the film adaptions that I knew eventually I would have to read it.

So far I’ve read the first two books of the series, and am a quarterly through the third.

5. The Girl On The Train

Basically this whole book is one massive lie. All of the characters are extremely unlikeable yet I couldn’t stop reading it. Much like You, mental illness and delusion play massive roles in the characters internal dialogue which we hear.

It’s not until towards the end of the book that secrets are revealed.

Despite its huge hype, it is rightfully earned.

6. The Anti-Cool Girl

Haha, what a another emotional roller coaster. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry for the most awkward bits. Rosie somehow manages to take the absolute worst moments of her life and make them humorous.

A bitch of a events lead Rosie to a mental hospital, gastric surgery and the discovery of being so cool, she’s anti cool.

7. I Am Pilgrim

Once again I read this tomb in one day. At first I was unsure about it. The plot seemed too intertwined but it was so cleverly put together. 10/would read again.

8. You

The most chilling book on this list and most probably that I’ve ever read. Without spoiling the plot, an obsessed stalker who is incredibly conning and manipulated. It is two faced at its most extreme. Murder, lust and obsession. I read this and Girl On The Train after each other and nothing can compare.

An absolute mind fuck. Told from the point of view of the stalker, it became so incredibly easy to see things from just his perspective. I had to stop and remind myself a few times that there was more to just his twisted ideas.

9. American Sniper

After so much hype from the movie, I picked this book up on a late night Kmart run. Like many books on this list it was difficult to read. But for different reasons. Because I knew how it ended.

Leave a Reply

