Just Keep Swimming

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.13.40 am

My swimming adventures began when I was a baby. Mum and Dad plopped me down in the water and from then on I didn’t want to get out. I always imagined being a mermaid and still am hoping that may happen. I was the kid that always had their birthday parties at the pool. Being blessed as a December baby. I had swimming lessons that then progressed on to club training which continued right up until I began uni.

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.15.57 am

Aged 2, rockin’ that swim wear

It was after over a decade of competitive swimming that the shine had worn off. Staring at the black line on the bottom of the pool for hours and smelling like chlorine wasn’t who I identified with anymore.

So I stopped. For almost a year I didn’t swim. But I didn’t still enjoy being in the water.

But after being asked to help out with some swimming lessons at the end of 2014 I decided to dive back into it (yes what a good pun indeed).

I had once again began to swim for exercise, but after seeing the kids enjoy learning I decided I wanted to teach swimming.

Although it took me a year to get there I did it. Combined with a job that wasn’t what I wanted to do, and the opportunity to start afresh needing a change. I decided to enrol in an AUSTSWIM Course.

A two day course over the Australia Day long weekend was my goal to complete.

And I did it. Despite the initial nerves t was the best thing I’ve done in a long time.

Starting training that very same week made me so happy. I knew it was exactly what I wanted to be doing. I also realised just how serious this new job would be. Teaching children to swim and how to be safe in the water is something that is a life long skill.

Which I’m so very proud that I now get to do, and if it inspires someone to be a little mermaid that’s really living the dream!

Leave a Reply

