Coming in 4th

It’s hard to believe that I’m about to begin my fourth year of uni. The past three have been challenging to say the least.

Though all of the lessons I’ve learnt I wouldn’t take any back. I’ve grown and changed as a person. Gone from an 18 year old who was trying to navigate Building 19 and Wednesday nights out, to a 21 year old who knows the best spots to take a nap at uni and how to get served at the bar the quickest.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 10.13.48 pm

4 vodka raspberries please 

To say I’ve hardened up is probablely true, I’m less naive and more determined than ever to graduate and work for the career I want.

And this is because of what I’ve learnt along the way. As much as uni is scary it’s also exciting and the lessons I’ve learnt I know I’ll find applicable to other situations through out my life.

1. Don’t leave things until the last minute

An obvious one, but something I keep learning each assessment! As Shia LaBeouf would say, JUST DO IT. Note though, opening a word document and writing your name on the top of the page does not mean an assignment beginning.

2. No, always opens another Yes

2015 confronted me with a lot of challenges, which meant some Nos. But for everything that didn’t work out, something different and often better came along. Which leads me along to;

3. Plans don’t always work out, which always results in something better

Just keep going forward. And don’t let anyone tell you your dreams or goals are silly. Unless it’s eating an entire cake in one sitting. Because that’s just not responsible eating. Share the cake around.

4. Your friends become your second family

Moving seven hours away from home has meant I don’t get to see my family as often. But that has meant my friends have become my family here. There’s nothing better than living with your best friends or being five minutes away to see them for some family time. Eating dinner in front of the T.V while watching The Simpsons after a long day is something I have done many a times and will certainly continue to do so.

5. Making mistakes is apart of growing up

You will fuck up. But that’s apart of life. As long as you don’t epically screw up to the point of letting off a nuclear bomb. It will be O.K eventually.

Although some of these things sound cliched, they for myself at least have all been true at some point.

Best of luck for 2016. May Donald Trump not be President and may Kayne stop tweeting.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 10.09.57 pm

Plz no, learn from the above Yeezy

Leave a Reply

