Eating Nuts and Balls

Get your mind out of the gutter.

 

The past few weeks have been pretty hectic balancing the end of the uni semester and all that comes with it. So keeping to a schedule has proven to be kind of difficult. But while all of this was happening I found it super important to keep eating well. Which I was able to do, but when it came to snacks… well let’s just say rice crackers and cheese can’t cut it all the time.

 

So despite today being the first day on holidays for myself I was left wondering what to do with my spare time. Combined with the fact that it is raining sideways outside I decided to give some recipes I’d been eyeing off form simple, healthy and delicious snacks a go.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.13.40 am

What and where I’d rather be, chasing the Summer

 

I tested out two recipes, both for protein balls. I kind of followed the recipes, but traded some ingredients for things I already had at home. Cause there was no way I was going outside for some fancy honey in this weather.

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 6.05.27 PM.png

 

So here are the two recipes I found, with my tweeks included.

 

3 Ingredients Balls

 

½ cup oats

½ cup dates

½ peanut butter

 

  1. In a food processor grind up dates until they are large crumb shaped pieces.
  2. Add oats and peanut butter. Grind until there is almost a paste.
  3. Roll into balls and place in freeze. Keep in there until ready to eat.

 

It’s important to keep these in the freezer as they will melt otherwise.

 

 

Almond Balls

 

1 cup oats

½ cup of roughly chopped almonds

½ coconut

½ cup peanut butter

½ cup of rice malt (or honey)

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

1 tablespoon of coca powder

 

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, mix well.
  2. Place mixture in fridge for 30 minutes to allow it to harden.
  3. Roll mixture into balls. Put in freezer.

 

 

Note, I used nuts obviously, but you can substitute them for allergy reasons. Also you can add whatever you like to the recipes, just make sure that if a dry ingredient is added such as seeds or oats, that a wet or sticky one is also added such as honey or a dried fruit.

 

As you can see they are incredibly easy to make and taste really yummy straight out of the freezer.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

