Japanese Fashion

Continuing my authoethnographic research into Japanese media, I will be looking into Japanese fashion. As I discussed in my previous two blog posts on Asian media, I have not had too much exposure to it. Mainly as it does not interest me as much as other areas of Japanese culture do. So with this idea in mind with the assignment requirements, I have decided to explore Japanese fashion. The good, the bad and the ugly. I have previously completed several university assignments on fashion, clothing and their impacts on people. So why not explore Japanese fashion. There are plenty of different subcultures of fashion to follow.

Personally I believe that what a person wears says so much about them. Before you even get to introduce yourself and say your name, what you chose to wear that day will determine so much about yourself. Clothing has the power to change who you are and your feelings. Being dressed in something you love is such a mood changer. Wearing your favourite outfit will brighten your day, and those around you. So with my interest in clothing I decided to investigate clothing in Japan. The subcultures and how they present themselves, along with how Western people appropriate them. I have a small amount of knowledge when it comes to Japanese clothing. There are plenty of wild and out there styles and clothing, such as with the Harajuku Girls.  I began my plight into the unknown by simply Googling Japanese fashion. And oh boy the colours!

 

Screen Shot 2016-09-22 at 10.13.19 AM.png
Source 

 

 

Research Project

Abstract

To investigate how Western culture perceives Japanese fashion. Specifically Japanese fashion.  I’m going to create mini blog posts with a photo of a fashion and the details I’ve managed to find surrounding the trend and the Western applications of it.

Introduction

Our clothing is who we are, the styles we chose to follow (or not follow) determine how the world views us.

I have a great interest in fashion and style. Researching Japanese style has shown me that personal style is such a large thing in their culture. Western and Eastern fashion trends already differ, but the subcultures of Japanese fashion go to the extreme. I’m interested in seeing how Westerners act towards it and whether it is possible to recreate some of the stylings from Western shops.

Methods

My first investigation for this project has been simply Googling the term ‘japanese fashion’, ‘Harajuku girls’ and ‘personal style in japan’.

Results

To be announced!

Discussion

After my initial investigation (which was basic, but to gather information and see what I had to work with, I’ve made the decision (as mentioned above) to narrow my focus into how people in Western countries mimic and recreate, if it is possible, Japanese fashion.

My reasoning for doing blog posts is that they are easy to follow and understand, I already have an established platform and personally I enjoy to blog. I believe a blog post can bring as little or as much information as you desire.

Leave a Reply

